Board Members

The Laurel School Board of Trustees is charged with establishing and supporting the school’s mission and long-range vision as well as broad priorities and policies for the operation of the school. Board members monitor the school’s academic and fiscal progress as it sets and approves the annual operating budget, including tuition and fees.

Current and former parents, administration, and members of our community at large make up our esteemed board. We welcome you to learn more about each member.


Meet Our 2018-2019 Board of Trustees

Patricia Hickey

Hal Hensler
Head of School

Wenner Exius
Vice President, Community Member, Branding

Simone Haas
Board Member, Parent, Development, Past President

Janelle Rodl
Secretary, Community Member, S.F. State

Richard Seifert
Treasurer, Parent

Karen Ward
Board Member, Parent

Janet Birenbaum
Alumni Parent

Courtney Minick
Board Member, Parent

Andy Armstrong
Board Member, Community Member, Marketing

Betsy Trigonis
Alumni Parent

Marcia Spitz
Board Emeritus, Retired

Educational Partnerships

We are very proud to partner with many influential organizations in the learning difference community.

Some include:

  • San Francisco State University’s Graduate Studies Special Education Program in Mild/Moderate Learning Differences

  • University of San Francisco’s Graduate Studies Special Education Program in Mild/Moderate Learning Differences

  • Research Institute for Learning and Development’s (ResearchILD) Executive Function Curriculum

  • Vanderbilt University’s Peabody College Special Education Program in Mild/Moderate Learning Differences

  • Parents Education Network (PEN)

  • Accrediting Commission for Schools, Western Association of Schools and Colleges (WASC)

Foundation Support

The Quest Foundation
Negley Flinn Charitable Foundation
Bothin Foundation